Miss Jackson

Miss Jackson is lovely – smiling staff, good food, and comfy surroundings. I can easily imagine myself whiling the afternoon away there, working on my laptop, being constantly fuelled with coffee or tea by the friendly staff.

Now to the most important part: the food. When there are Spanish Baked Eggs on the menu, there is a pretty good chance that I’ll order that – I mean, eggs and a rich, hearty tomato sauce is a pretty winning combination, right?

Image

This dish was definitely different to what I expected – sadly it had no rich, hearty tomato sauce, but it was still good.

Another case of expecting something different to what I had: the Polenta Fries.

Image

To me, these didn’t taste like polenta fries but reminded me much more of fried cornbread (aka hush puppies), which is absolutely delicious. Hey, if it were up to me, I’ll just label them “bread crumb coated pillows of fried goodness”.

Finally, the lovely summer special of Tapioca Trifle and Fresh Mango with Coconut Frozen Yoghurt and Lime Syrup.

Image

Wow – so incredibly fresh, light, not too sweet, and flavoursome… the essence of summer, in a cup. It’s a shame they don’t have it throughout the year!

2/19 Grey Street, St Kilda 3182

Leave a Reply

