Duchess of Spotswood

I had first been to the Duchess of Spotswood over 2 years ago, and somehow, I never got around to going back there again until a couple of weeks ago. I have no idea why I waited so long between visits, because the Duchess is a seriously awesome cafe, truly one of the best in Melbourne.

The Duchess serves up breakfast fare until 11:45am, and then switches over to the lunch menu thereafter. I managed to get there before the breakfast menu expired for the day. Thank goodness, because I would be very sad to miss out on getting this incredibly tasty dish.

Image

Ah, there she is, in all her glory: the Breakfast of Champignons – mushroom duxelle, poached eggs, toast, and a stilton croquette. Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. One of the most memorable brunch dishes I’ve had to date.

I wouldn’t mind trying out their lunch menu the next time – I spied the lunch options on a couple of tables around me, and their food looked seriously delicious. The staff were also super nice, accommodating, and friendly when I asked them about there being vegetarian and vegan options. The prices are on the higher side, but I really do think it’s worth it for the quality of the food (and I’m stingy).

More trips over the West Gate it is!

87 Hudsons Road, Spotswood 3015

Leave a Reply

