Candied Bakery

Candied Bakery calls itself an Aussie bakery with an American twist and a dash of Europe. For me, Candied Bakery is the bakery that you wished you had on your street corner, a mere 5 minute stroll away, putting out simple, delicious, and satisfying food. Until then, however, I will have to be content with hopping into a car and driving.

Image

This is what lured me to Candied Bakery in the first place – Peanut Butter and Jelly Soft Serve. Oh my. It was good. Their soft serve flavour changes on a weekly basis, so I guess I’ll be driving to Spotwood quite frequently.

Image

Here are their Hot Cross Buns, awarded the best hot cross bun in Melbourne by The Age. They certainly didn’t disappoint – great flavour and was surprisingly light to eat – I really liked that I didn’t feel weighted after eating one,┬áif that makes sense.

Image

Doughnuts are one of my (many food-related, at least) weaknesses, so naturally, I couldn’t pass up the one offered by Candied Bakery. Oh boy am I glad I got this Zuppa Inglese Doughnut. It was awesome. The custard was custardy and not too sweet or heavy, and the dough was the perfect combination of chewy, springy, and light.

Next time, savoury bakery items, watch out.

81A Hudsons Road, Spotswood 3015

3 thoughts on “Candied Bakery

  1. Want want want!

    As a non-car-driving person, I’d be thrilled if Candied Bakery would move a couple of suburbs closer to me. :-)

    • One can dream, right? :)

      At least it’s super close to Spotswood train station…. imagine, a day trip out to Spotswood for Candied Bakery, the Duchess of Spotswood, and Scienceworks!

Leave a Reply

