Colourful Yunnan

Yunnan food was one of the big eating revelations for me during my trip to China. It is one of the more vegetarian-friendly Chinese regional cuisines and absolutely delicious. I loved their mushroom dishes prepared in a variety of ways (eg stir fried with chillis or steamed to perfection in an aluminium foil encasing), their famous fried egg with jasmine (sounds a bit odd but really very delicious), fried potato dishes (fried potato balls and shredded potato pancakes, for instance), and fried cheese. Yes, you read correctly – fried cheese!

Now that I knew how delicious Yunnan food was, I was on a mission to find it in Melbourne. Thankfully, it didn’t take long to hunt down Colourful Yunnan. So, along with my Chinese food eating buddy Steph and a few other ex-temporary Beijingers, we set off.

Although I didn’t track down many of my favourite dishes on Colourful Yunnan’s menu, I did spy a noodle on the menu that did not have broth and which was easy to veganise: the Rice Noodles with Tofu pudding (ask for the dish without the beef mince).

Image

What a great choice. The rice noodles, which were really nice, chewy, and thicker than the ones more typically used in Cantonese cuisine, came with soft tofu, pickled mustard greens, carrot, bean sprouts, and a delectable chilli (not too hot) sauce. It was also a very generous serving and I could’ve easily ordered the dish for myself and made 2 meals out of it. This dish was definitely the winner of the night for me.

We also ordered some Chinese Cabbage Stir Fried with Chilli, the Fried Milk, and Shredded Potato. The cabbage and potato dishes were a bit “meh” for me, as I’d definitely had better versions elsewhere, but thankfully the Fried Milk did not disappoint (thankfully it’s pretty hard to go wrong with fried cheese).

Image

Image

Image

I would definitely come back to Colourful Yunnan to order the noodles again. I also saw a couple of other items on the menu that I would like to try out next time, such as the Cold Fungus and Chilli. Now if I could find the jasmine flower stir fried with egg here in Melbourne, along with those potato and mushroom dishes, I’d be as happy as Larry.

680 Swanston Street, Carlton 3053

4 thoughts on “Colourful Yunnan

    • Haha we should get a referral fee from them or something :) Yes do go and try it out; I think you’d be pleasantly surprised. The menu’s a bit confusing though (more so than Fina in terms of hard-to-read-ness) and it takes some patience to hunt down the vegetarian dishes. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the place!

  1. I love how differently we blog about things – we blog about exactly the same meals but we have such different takes on them! I think you are a more comprehensive blogger than me. :D

Leave a Reply

